Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 25th, 2011

Role Models

Hello, Hello! Well today is flying by and it is a good thing because today is a super long day for me. Looks like this:

  • 6:45 am- Get up, shower, pack lunch, iron clothes, eat breakfast, get ready for work and commute.
  • 9am-5pm- Work
  • 5:15-6:15 pm- Run
  • 6:15-6:45- Shower and blow dry my hair
  • 6:45-7:10 – Eat dinner
  • 7:15-10:00- Class

then- CRASH!

Lunch today was pretty simple, yet amazing. I had a turkey sandwich with mustard, lettuce, tomato and pickles on a whole wheat roll. On the side I have some delicious cherries and popchips. Popchips sent me an amazing Holiday gift on December of two boxes full of single servings of various flavors. They are awesome. Thanks, popchips!

To get through my busy day, I grabbed a medium nonfat vanilla latte as an afternoon snack. It was super yummy, but sweeter than I thought it would be.

During lunch, I got to talking with one of the student ambassadors in my department.  He was asking me about my career goals and when I told him I was getting my M.Ed. to be a guidance counselor and said, “That is great! You totally have that quality. you know. You are a great role model.”

For some reason that caught me a little off guard. I guess I never thought of myself as a role model. I never thought that when I am a guidance counselor I will be seen as one.  That is kind of a lot of pressure, no?

It got me thinking about my life’s role models. I have many, all of which I know personally- I don’t really have that many celebrity ones.

  • My Dad- I love that he always finds a way to give back and stand up for those without a voice.
  • My Mom- her kind heart and sense of humor are refreshing and she gives the best advice.
  • My Husband– He is a “tell it like it is” kind of guy, but is also the sweetest and most generous person I know- it is such a balance.
  • My sister-in-law Jen- She had the courage to chase her dreams and is so happy she did!
  • My bestie May– She is a very, very hard worker and even though she has a hard job she has a sense of humor about it.
  • My friend Caitlin– She is changing the lives of girls and women everyday with Operation Beautiful.
  • My friend Melissa– her commitment to her nieces and nephew is amazing, I hope as they get older they will understand how lucky they are to have her.
  • My friends Belle and Dan- They are always thinking of others and their kind, unexpected  gestures make my day so often.
  • My friend Ashley– She has unbelievable courage and believes that happy is the best thing she can be and lets nothing stand in her way of that

Just to name a few.  🙂

Who are your role models, ones you know well or don’t know personally at all? What do you admire about them? Do they know they are your role models?

Example is not the main thing in influencing others. It is the only thing.
– Albert Schweitzer

Read Full Post »

Pizza Dilemma- Solved!

Ok, first of all I cannot even begin to thank everyone for their sweet comments, e-mails and tweets regarding my last post.  It was amazing how many of you were willing to share your stories via comments or e-mail. The support was amazing and made me glad I wrote the post. I have had some serious reservations about it for a long time.  I got many e-mails from people that have been in a similar situation, that are currently feeling that way and even some from people that have been been there, but wanted to offer support. It was just great, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

While getting a ride into work today from Adam (second day in a row…woop!) I heard this new song from Pink and it really reminded me of that post. Funny how things work out like that, huh?

I have always been a huge Pink fan for her tell it like it is attitude and uniqueness. Plus, her songs are seriously awesome to run to 🙂

Anyways, I didn’t post last night because I was pooped by the end of the day. My day looked like this:

  • 5:40 am- wake up
  • 6:00 am-7:00 am- Crossfit
  • 7:00am-9:00am- breakfast, shower get ready commute to work.
  • 9:00 am-4:30pm- Work
  • 4:30pm-7:10pm- Class
  • 7:10pm-7:40pm- Commute
  • 7:40pm-8:40pm- Part-time job work
  • 8:40pm-9:00pm- Dinner
  • 9:00pm-11:00 pm- Homework

It was a long day and by the end I was ready for bed. I think this new schedule with class will take some getting used to. I have class until 10pm tonight. I am getting to old for this crap 😉

During class for a little energy kick, I had a medium nonfat cappuccino. It helped 🙂

Class was fine, but long. This class looks like it will be quite a bit of work. It seems like we were there forever, I don’t really know how else to explain it besides- Homegirl can taaaaalllllkkkkk. Wow! This professor can really talk, and you don’t even realize time is going by. Not too much of a bad thing, at least what she is saying is interesting.

When I got home, I did some work for my part-time job while dinner was cooking. Dinner was individual pizzas. I found individual whole wheat pizza crusts this weekend at the grocery store and bought one for me and one for Adam. Since I like my pizza topped with veggies and Adam hates the veggies and likes his plain this could be good. When I showed them to Adam last night he said, “This could be the best thing that ever happened to this household.” The man is serious about his pizza 🙂

My pizza was topped with tomatoes, spinach, artichokes, and red bell peppers.

It was pretty good. I think this is the answer to our pizza dilemma. I am a problem solver, what can I say!? 🙂

I had a few small lemon poppy seed cookies while working on some reading and homework for school.

Breakfast this morning was two whole wheat waffles with barney butter, blueberry jam and half of a banana- eaten sandwich style. On the side I had a clementine and coffee.

Today’s Outfit:

Dark bootcut jeans (gap), white tank (H&M), Black and white polka dotted sweater (target), hot pink scarf.

Shoes:

Black Tory Burch flats.

While packing up my three bags (work bag, school bag, gym bag) this morning before leaving for work I realized I was drinking out of a polka dotted mug and wearing a polka dotted sweater. I guess I am feeling the dots today 🙂

What are you “feelin’ ” today?

Read Full Post »